I Keep On

Wake up in the morning can’t get out of bed,

First thing is problems running through my head,

I wanna close my eyes and sleep forever,

But if I’m gonna go anywhere I know I got to get up,

.

Splash water on my face from the kitchen sink,

Trying not to go crazy, but I’m on the brink,

Gotta slow down on the energy drinks and think,

When I write it’s like my pen is bleeding ink,

.

I feel like I’m swimming against the flow of a river,

And I don’t know where it starts or where I’ll be delivered,

Still I keep on swimming, I can’t be a quitter,

Even if I tried I don’t think I remember how to give up,

.

No time for wasting I delinked so many mates,

But to reach my dreams loneliness is a price I must pay,

And I know I should find a little more time to pray,

Because I rarely make Salat five times a day,

Ya Allah help me find my way,

I know you’re beside me every step that I take,

I can’t be consumed with hate, no matter how much my heart breaks,

Can’t ever let myself cry or I’d cry rivers and lakes,

.

Trying to work, pay bills, organize and get a degree,

Verily with hardship there must be ease,

And I found an escape through my poetry,

Whatever life throws at me I got a release,

.

Now I try to make molehills out of the mountains I’m facing,

Trying to play catchup with a life I’m chasing,

Trying to break free from the wrath of Masons,

I know it’s for the coming of Dajjal they’re waiting,

.

Still I feel locked in this consumerist trap,

Where you’re closest friends could stab you in your back,

And I never get the chance to relax,

Yet I know what I want and you better believe I’m chasing that!

 

Leave a Reply

